Skip to main content

Past Organists and Organ Scholars



  1859   William Henry Bliss
  1865   Frederick Scotson Clark (later Organist, English Church, Stuttgart)
  1867   George Purnell Merrick
  1871   Joseph Cox Bridge (later Organist, Chester Cathedral and Director of Studies, Trinity College of Music)
  1876   Hugh Brookbank
  1877   Thomas Spinney (later Organist, St Edmund’s, Salisbury)
  1883   Alfred Herbert Brewer (later Organist and Master of the Choristers, Gloucester Cathedral, and Composer)
  1887   Francis Cunningham Woods (later Organist, Highgate School)
  1896   Reginald Pullen
  1899   James Heap (later Music Master, King Edward School, Bath)
  1904   Cyril Winn (later HM Inspector of Schools Music)
  1908   Lawrence Collingwood (later Conductor, Sadler’s Wells)
  1911   Harry Sibree Price
  1913   Herbert Frederick Grizelle
  1915   Guillaume Francis Ormonde (later Organist and Master of the Choristers, Truro Cathedral)
  1920   Peter Grenville Temple (later Director of Music, Campbell College)
  1923   Alfred Ainger Negus (later Assistant Director of Music, Harrow School)
  1927   Bernard Naylor (later Organist, The Queen’s College, Oxford, and Composer)
  1931   Kenneth Forbes Malcolmson (later Director of Music and Precentor, Eton College)
  1935   John Gardner (later Director of Music, Repton College and Composer)
  1939   Patrick Forbes (later Director of Music, Ardingly College)
  1943   Alec Wyton (later Director of Music, Cathedral of St John the Divine, Manhattan)
  1948   Jared Armstrong (later Director of Music, Wellington College)
  1952   David Wright (later Assistant Organist, New College, Oxford)
  1956   Richard Latham (later Assistant Organist, Gloucester Cathedral)
  1959   Julian Dams (Organist Emeritus, Sherborne Abbey)
  1961   Christopher Herrick (later Assistant Organist, St Paul’s Cathedral and Westminster Abbey)
  1963   John Nicholl
  1965   Julian Larkin (later Sub-Organist, Portsmouth Cathedral)
  1967   Ian Parker
  1969   James Parsons (later Director of Music, Oundle School)
  1971   Stephen Ridgely-Whitehouse (later Director of Music, St Peter’s, Eaton Square)
  1973   James Joseph (Opera North)
  1974   Richard Vendome (later Leverhulme Fellow in Music, Oxford University, and Organist, Littlemore Parish Church)
  1975   Mark Uglow (Director of Music, St Mary Abbots, Kensington)
  1977   Mark Cyphus (Organist, Eleventh Church of Christ the Scientist, Baker St.)
  1979   Michael Howell (Director of Music, Holy Trinity, Skipton)
  1981   Mark Shepherd (Director of Music, Charterhouse)
  1983   David Trendell (later Director of Music, King’s College, London and St Mary’s, Bourne St.)
  1985   James Henderson (Director of Music, Sherborne School)
  1987   Tony Henwood (Director of Music, Latymer Upper School)
  1989   Richard Tanner (Director of Music, Rugby School)
  1991   Robert Sharpe (Director of Music, York Minster)
  1993   Charles Cole (Musical Director, London Oratory School Schola, Assistant Director of Music, Brompton Oratory; Duty Organist, Westminster Cathedral)
  1995   Graeme McCullough (Director of Music, All Saints, Worcester MA)
  1997   Tansy Castledine (Director of Music, Peterborough Cathedral)
  1999   Richard Hills (Assistant Organist, St Mary’s, Bourne St.)
  2001   Timothy Burke (Chorus Master, Opera North)
  2003   Stephen Wood (Welsh National Opera)
  2005   Carlene Mills
  2007   Alistair Reid
  2009   Joshua Hales (later Assistant Organist, Sheffield Cathedral)
  2011   George de Voil (Director of Music, St James’s, Sussex Gardens; Assistant Director of Music, Wellington College)
  2013   Tim Muggeridge (First Officer, Virgin Atlantic Airways)
  2015   Bartosz Rafal Thiede (Director of Music, St Canice’s Cathedral, Kilkenny; Choral Director, Kilkenny College)
  2017   James Andrew Short (Director of Music, The English Church, Florence)
  2019   Christopher Holman
  2021   Miles Swinden
  2022   Michael Koenig (first incumbent of the Graduate Organist post)
  2022   Sungjoon Park