Skip to main content

Key Contacts for Students

To see a list of academic and administrative staff click here.


Exeter College Offices and Officers:

Post Notes Name Email
Rector Head of the College, Chair of Governing Body, Trustee Professor Sir Rick Trainor Email
Rector’s EA Heidi Coates Email
Sub-Rector Deputy to the Rector, responsible for student discipline  Dr Barnaby Taylor Email
Senior Tutor Responsible for undergraduate academic matters, and (as Tutor for Graduates) graduate academic and welfare matters Dr Chris Ballinger Email
Chaplain and Welfare Lead Overall responsibility for student welfare The Rev’d. Andrew Allen Email
Academic Office Support for current and prospective students Email
Academic Registrar Responsible for academic-related matters, especially examination issues, coursework deadlines and financial aid applications. Disability Co-ordinator for the College Josie Cobb Email
Accommodation Manager Allocation and management of student rooms in Turl Street Mihaela Groza Email
Accounts Office Payment of fees and Battels Email
Admissions For undergraduate, graduate or visiting student study Verity Skirrow Email
Access & Outreach For Outreach and Schools Liaison Ellie Lee & Evie Sutcliffe Email
Finance and Estates Bursar Responsible for Finance and College Estates. Also: College Safety, Data Protection & Freedom of Information Officer Nicholas Badman Email
Domestic Bursar Also: Fire Safety Officer Mr Babis Karakoulas Email
Bursars’ PA Sharon Hancock Email
Catering Services Manager Manages all catering in College Richard Murphy Email
Cohen Quad Front Desk Email
College Nurse and Welfare Officer Provides medical advice to students with physical or mental health problems Helen Thornton Email
Communications team For internal and external communications Matthew Baldwin Email
Computing Office IT support to staff and students Email
Cohen Quad:  Operations Manager Allocation and management of student rooms in Cohen Quad Hughie Hicks Email
Development and Alumni Relations Office Alumni Relations and fundraising Email
Harassment Officer Trained in harassment issues, and available to discuss these with any member of College Dr Daniel Quigley Email
Harassment Officer Trained in harassment issues, and available to discuss these with any member of College Agni Orfanoudaki Email
Health, Safety & Maintenance Administrator Silvia Monteiro Email
Hostels Supervisor (Exeter House) Issues arising at Exeter House and Stapeldon House Mr Jim Dobson Email
Junior Common Room (The Stapeldon Society) Website
Junior Dean (Cohen Quad) Resident in College, and assist with student welfare and discipline Sandra Adele Email
Junior Dean (Turl Street) Resident in College, and assist with student welfare and discipline Brittany Johnson Email
Assistant Junior Dean Resident at Exeter House, and assists the Junior Deans Anjali Rawat Email
Library Joanna Bowring (Librarian) Email
Archives Victoria Northridge (Archivist) Email
Middle Common Room (The William Petre Society) Website
Organ Scholar Enquiries relating to the Choir Sungjoon Park Email
Porters’ Lodge Switchboard, First Aid, Security, Post Email
Steward Manages conferences and events in College Philip Munday Email
Prevent Lead Rachel Taylor Email
Undergraduate Adviser Panel A panel of Teaching Fellows in the College, available for undergraduates from any subject to consult on academic or personal matters See panel below for current details


University and Other Contacts:

19 Beaumont Street Surgery: The College Doctors

Nightline: Confidential support and information for Oxford students, available through the night during term time

Oxford City Council

Oxfordshire County Council

Oxford University Counselling Service: Free and confidential support (but not an emergency service)

Oxford University Students’ Union (OUSU): Represent, support and enhance the lives of Oxford students

OUSU Student Advice Service: Independent advice and information for Oxford students

Oxfordshire Sexual Abuse and Rape Crisis Centre (OSARCC): 0800 783 6294 or 01865 726295

The Samaritans: 08457 9090909 or 01865 722122

Studental: Dentists based at the Oxford Brookes University campus in Headington

Members of the Undergraduate Adviser Panel:

Professor Nandini Das (English Tutor)

Professor Jonathan Herring (Law Tutor)

Professor Conall Mac Niocaill (Earth Sciences Tutor)

Dr Maureen Taylor (Biochemistry Tutor)